Christianity, Christmas Dailies, Family

Week 1: Hope for the World

6939380-R1-044-20A_editedYes, that’s Santa on a camel. No, I can’t really explain why it happened. When I was in college I had the privilege of going to India to spend Christmas with 2,000 orphans. I will definitely write about it more in a later post, but it is one of my favorite Christmas memories, because it was so, so full of joy.

Getting to India, though, takes a long, long time. On one of our long travel days of the trip, I remember sitting on a sleeping train watching farms and fields and brightly dressed people become dots on the horizon. I felt very far away from home and very, very small. It was one of the first times that I existentially felt how enormous the world really is and in comparison to 7 billion people how small one existence is.

You see, as much as Jesus loves me, He didn’t just come for me, or for Richmond, or Jerusalem, or Israel, he came for the whole world.

Only God could unite people from all over the world.  Although we may speak different languages, have different skin colors and have different cultural practices, we all have a deep yearning for God, because we were all, all 7 billion of us, made to worship Him.

Each Christmas, I am reminded of the people who have not heard of Jesus. There are whole people groups around the world that have never been introduced to Jesus. In the same way that the Israelites expectantly waited for Jesus for years and years many still live in darkness because they have never heard of the true Light.

Each Christmas I think about the racial tension that is a part of nations all over the world, but especially so in the United States. Deep prejudices are even still a part of the church. I pray that people would lay aside their foolishness and pride and recognize that Jesus came for everyone. If we are to spend eternity with our Christian brothers and sisters of a different race, God would be ashamed that we cannot worship with them now.

Pray that God would send people to share His name and His Good News with the World. Also pray that God would use you to tell your friends, neighbors and family about Jesus. Pray that God would reveal racism and prejudice against various peoples and socioeconomic classes and help you to repent of your sin.

“Here is my servant whom I have chosen,

the one I love, in whom I delight;

I will put my Spirit on him,

and he will proclaim justice to the nations.

He will not quarrel or cry out;

no one will hear his voice in the streets.

A bruised reed he will not break,

and a smoldering wick he will not snuff out,

till he has brought justice through to victory.

In his name the nations will put their hope.”

Isaiah 42:1-4

Leave a Reply

